Learning to FLY!

My virtual OGBF friend, Susan Popper, posted a link to Tom Petty’s performance of ‘Learning to fly’ and I was reminded of my life-long love for his music. This video is one of my favourites: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5BJXwNeKsQ because I am reminded of a time in my life when I was indeed learning to fly, metaphorically speaking of course.

How inspirational the lyrics for this song are: ‘I’m learning to fly/but I ain’t got wings/ comin’ down/ is the hardest thing’ – the words speaks for themselves really. But it’s the next verse that I find more true to life for me –  ‘Some say life/ will beat you down/ and break your heart/ and steal your crown’. The next line, ‘So, I started out/ for God knows where/ I guess I’ll know/ when I get there’ are the words that get me hooked – I always took the message to be that no matter what life throws at you, pick yourself up, dust yourself off and get on your way to somewhere.

It’s a great thing to remember after the week I’ve had. Depression is not something you have a great deal of control over and I’ve been in a deep, dark funk for most of this week. I couldn’t put it into words at the time and now, I’m not sure I want to, but going out into this afternoon’s bright sunshine was the perfect antidote. The sea has an ethereal healing power that I don’t yet understand, but every time I look out over the undulating, sparkling water, whether it’s calm or stormy weather doesn’t matter, I am calmed, uplifted and refreshed.

Whilst walking around the Vincent Pier at Scarborough late this afternoon, I spotted this beautiful cormorant. At first, he dived spectacularly into the water and disappeared for a full two minutes – whether this was just out of my sight or he stayed under water all that time I don’t know, but I watched intently for his reappearance and was rewarded with the treat of his flight right across the water in front of me.

Learning to fly

Learning to fly

What a beautiful creature! I feel like maybe it’s time I learned to fly!

Posted on September 14, 2013, in Animals, Bird watching, Living a full life, Music, Personal, photography, Uncategorized, Wildlife, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It’s such struggle sometimes, depression. But there are more of us out here than you realize who can empathize. Know we’re rooting for you!

    Like

  2. A beautiful reflection. I’m so glad you have found relief from your depression. I pray you continue to soar.

    Like

    • Thank you Tony! Finding relief from depression is dependent upon a vital factor – finding the will to look for relief. That’s what I was really struggling with last week. I’m going to keep looking though, because to stop looking is to give up and admit defeat. I’m not big on defeat 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

