Is that horse chestnut tree mocking me?

I’ve been bonkers about conkers for a while now and today I thought I’d share a little bit of my reasoning with you all.

As I’ve already told you, we have a magnificent conker tree in the front garden. It’s a whopper! And just to show you here’s a photo of my FAB hubby collecting conkers from the ground beneath the tree.

The grand horse chestnut tree, with Mr G on guard...

The grand horse chestnut tree, with Mr G on guard…

I think you’ll agree it’s a fantastic, majestic looking arboreal example.

Now as we were collecting the fruits of this tree and others in the garden the other day, I was struck by the different ways the conker shells split, revealing the gorgeous, deep rich chestnut brown interiors to the world. Some of these ‘reveals’ seem to take on a character of their own… so today I give you:

1: Alien monkey business:

Can you see the little alien monkey face?

Can you see the little alien monkey face?

2: Smilers:

They all look like they're smiling at me!

They all look like they’re smiling at me!

and 3 (possibly my favourite!) Mooning Aliens …

Sniggering loudly whilst one moons us daringly ...

Sniggering loudly whilst one moons us daringly …

Oh, dear! Perhaps I need to go lie down for a bit!

Posted on October 6, 2013, in Aliens, Blogging, Communing with Nature, gardening, Home, humour, photography, Trees, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

