Reflecting on the past

Reflection on the past

Reflection on the past

Thanks goodness for Jeff Anderson’s photo course! I’m consciously trying to take better pictures, looking for light sources and watching my exposures more carefully.

I’ve been lax lately with writing. Partly it is from having a feeling that I can’t quite put my finger on – I’ve tried three or four times over the past few days to find some inspiration from somewhere. Something’s amiss. Really, I’m not sure what it is.

The last leaves cling to their branches

The last leaves cling to their branches

I feel like I need to think with greater clarity about things, to see things more clearly and choose the best path that lies ahead. Life is kind of muddy at the moment and perhaps I should take my own advice and do myself a tarot reading – that usually clears things up for me when I feel I need a kick in the pants!

We had a short trip out on Tuesday afternoon and the sky was just a brilliant colour. Like it can only be in late autumn, with a cold crispness in the air and the last of the leaves changing, clinging on for dear life to the remnants of their glory days.

How blue can the sky be?

How blue can the sky be?

I managed a couple of good shots of leaves, seed heads and reflections and then we found a delightful pub to have a latte and a plate of chips to share.

Even dead seed heads have their own beauty

Even dead seed heads have their own beauty

On my way to the ladies room this glorious lantern lit the passageway and entranced me.

I love the way the light is thrown onto the wall behind

I love the way the light is thrown onto the wall behind

I love the way the light patterns are thrown onto the wall behind.

Posted on November 14, 2013, in Ancient monuments, Blogging, Personal, photography, Trees, Uncanny, Yorkshire Wolds and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi,I log on to your article named “Reflecting on the past | Home on the Grange” daily. Your story-telling style is spectacular, keep up the good work! And you can see our website about 功夫熊貓.

    Like

  2. Smithy, I cannot tell you how much having wonderful friends like you means to me. When I saw the lantern’s reflections upon the wall, my mind immediately skipped to you and Mairi – I have no idea why, but it did. Maybe it was the colours. Thank you for your comments and please keep reading!

    Like

  3. It’s about purpose, Liz. Photography, life, both the same. If there is no purpose,reason,justification, then there is no point and the beauty around will not be captured. This is easier said than done – a purpose in life can be easy at times (when little kids need us for eg) but it can be hopelessly evasive at other times. Photography is the same. The question ” why am I making this image” could be substituted for ” who am I making this image for ?” And then ” what will I do with this image?”
    Make life for yourself and then share it with friends. …….. Make images for yourself and then share them with friends.
    You have so many friends and you have so much vision. Enjoy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

