On being nominated for a Liebster Award …

I was recently nominated for a Liebster Award by http://panicyesterday.wordpress.com/2013/11/15/nomination-for-the-liebster-award/

Hmm… I was somewhat sceptical when I read a notification that I had been nominated for a Liebster Award by someone. Intrigued, I followed the link from ‘Panicyesterday’ who blogs regularly at wordpress.com about an important life skill that many people find difficult to master – how to deal with panic attacks. She’s a wonderfully empathic person with lots of advice for people who are ‘serial worriers’ – as one of her followers described themselves. I’ve enjoyed reading her blog and would recommend it for anyone, particularly if you feel you’d like some down-to-earth, sensible advice.

This is what Panicyesterday had to say about my blog:

“Home on the Grange -https://akashicliz.wordpress.com/

This blog is written by a mom, grandma and wife who has a lot of interesting and funny things to tell us readers. She is really fun and I admire these women who caring about their family like this. Do visit the blog”

How kind of her to say such flattering things about my blog! However, I was curious about this award, although Panicyesterday explained it all quite clearly. Naturally, I googled the term and it seems that it’s a peer award, from one blogger to another, awarded to fairly new bloggers that have (various sources quote different numbers of course!) fewer than 200 followers. I gather it used to be around 3000 followers, but clearly with wider distribution of the award, some people have changed the rules along the way and I was advised that the fewer than 200 followers rule applied. I’m a tad confused about this as my blog followers counter currently stands at around 775, but hey, I’m still not complaining! It is one of those positive areas of the Internet where people get to ‘pay it forward’ in a practical sense and pass on to fellow bloggers a feeling of goodwill and peace towards others. At this time of year, I can think of no better way to spend a few minutes of my time, so I am very happy to accept Panicyesterday’s nomination, with my grateful thanks!

There are some simple basic rules for this process. After accepting the nomination, I should answer the ten questions that my nominator has posed for me (which I’ll do momentarily) and then I should nominate up to ten other bloggers (giving reasons why I want to nominate them) and pose a set of ten questions for them to answer. They then can choose to accept, repeating the same process or decline as they wish.

One very important aspect of this award scheme is that no-one is under any obligation to participate unless they want to. Nothing dreadful will happen if I don’t want to accept or if (having accepted) any of my nominees don’t wish to accept. We’ll all just continue on our merry ways through this journey of life and the sky will not fall, the sun will still shine and you can bet your bottom dollar that the traffic will be at a standstill at the A64/A19 junction yet again on Sunday… it’s just one of life’s little certainties! I like the idea that no-one does this because they are forced to; it’s just something good to do, if you want to!

It all seems simple enough to me, so let’s get on shall we?

Here are the questions that I was asked, with my answers to each one:

1: What countries do you like to visit?

This is a great question for me – I’m soon to make yet another move, although this time it’s only going to be about an hour’s drive from where I currently live, so not so far for once! I’ve lived in many parts of the UK, from London to Stockport, Whitby to Bournemouth and Rugby to Malton and I love the diversity of the countryside in England – rocky outcrops, wild moorlands, calm seasides, bustling cities, all of these places have their attractions for me. But I’ve also lived abroad too, in Barbados (as a child) which was magical and in Hong Kong where I spent thirteen years teaching in English schools and raising my own children. I’ve been on holiday to several places including parts of Europe (France, Spain, Italy, Switzerland, Malta and Greece) as well as parts of Asia (Singapore, Malaysia and China) but there are still many places I would like to visit, such as Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Madagascar, India, Nepal, Vietnam, Cambodia, Tibet, Iran, Germany, Norway, Iceland, Canada, all over the USA – I’d love to drive from coast to coast across America! I’d also love to visit parts of South America too, particularly Peru and Brazil. I’d love to return to the Caribbean as well, to explore parts of the areas that I haven’t seen. But most of all, I’d love to go back to the Aegean Sea, which is quite breathtakingly gorgeous – so I’d like to have a boat and sail around there for a good long vacation!

2: What’s your biggest fear?

My biggest fear is that I might become invisible. I’m not crazy – I don’t think that I will actually disappear so that people cannot physically see me! And it’s not just that I worry this will happen to me, but more that it happens to all of us, every day. But I do worry that as a society, we don’t really acknowledge everyday accomplishments so much. For some people, the struggle to get out of bed and face the world each day is almost insurmountable and, in a way, I guess my blog is about celebrating my thoughts, which sometimes are spouted more frequently than at other times. In doing this, I feel like I’m saying to the world, each day, ‘Here I am!’ and I hope this will be sufficient to prevent my worst fear.

3: What is your best childhood memory?

My childhood was not a particularly happy one, for a number of reasons, largely due to becoming an orphan at a quite young age. But there were plenty of good things that I do remember – swimming in the exquisite Caribbean Sea in Barbados was a joy, as I recall. I remember going out in flat, glass-bottomed boats to look at the teeming shoals of fish and the gorgeous coral reef there. Also, I had a beautiful collie dog for a very short period and I remember being so happy to see her when I came home from school and she licked my face, arms, head, hands and legs for about ten minutes! She was very excitable and as I said, wasn’t with us for long, but I did love her dearly.

4: How would you propose to your partner?

I have been happily married now for over thirty three years, so this one’s pretty difficult to answer! If I’m proposing something to him, I usually just blurt it right out, so maybe that’s what I’d do if I was proposing marriage!

5: What is your favourite hobby?

I am fairly creative so I love to do creative things, such as painting, taking photographs, knitting or sewing – mostly quilts or clothing. I wrote a book about sewing iconic dresses from ten different movies (it’s called ‘Sew Iconic’ which is a shameless plug, I know, but this IS my blog!) Also, I love writing too so blogging has to count as something I love to do. In addition, I enjoy choral singing and reading exciting, interesting or amusing books.

6: What animal do you chose as a pet?

I mentioned that I once, for a very short while at least, owned a lovely dog and I would dearly love to have another one day – perhaps a chocolate Labrador if I was able to have a choice. I’ve had a number of fantastic cats that have chosen to live with me – a Siamese called ‘Rommel’, a black and white cat called ‘Bimbo’, an all-black cat called ‘Rover’, a Russian Blue called ‘Ginger’ and finally a pair of black and white cats from the same litter called ‘Snuggles’ and ‘Purr’. Snugs was with us for fifteen years and his brother, Purr lived until he was over twenty three years old, which is a mighty long time for a cat! We’ve had rabbits and guinea pigs as well as countless goldfish and even a catfish at one point. I love to see wild animals like owls and deer and the fantastic birds that visit my garden every year, because I enjoy photographing them.

7: Who is your favourite author?

I have a number of favourite books including all the Harry Potter novels, so JK Rowling is amongst my favourite authors of course, but there are so many others! I loved ‘Gone With The Wind’ by Margaret Mitchell and ‘The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy’ by Douglas Adams, which had me in stitches when I first read it as a teenager. I adored the Narnia books as a child too, so C.S. Lewis has to be among my faves. I recall that Richard Adams’ ‘Watership Down’ was fantastic too. As an adult I’ve enjoyed many biographies and autobiographies as well as travelogues, particularly by Bill Bryson (who still has me screaming in tears of joy as I re-read his books), and books about animals, especially those by the inimitable Jon Katz, also fascinate me. But I also enjoy reading dictionaries and books about words so I’m probably a bit of a biblio-freak!

8: What is friendship for you?

Friendship is something I treasure and value very highly. A friend is the person who helps you hide the bodies of all those eejits you have to bury because they p***ed you off so much! My good friends are all those kinds of people, who (so far at least) have not yet been called upon for such a duty – but there’s still time!

9: What are your bad habits?

I am the laziest person on the planet. I also bite my nails, which is truly disgusting. I am trying to overcome my dreadful habit of denigrating myself and my achievements continually.

10: What do you chose – to live on the countryside or in the city?

Currently I live in the countryside, in almost the middle of nowhere, with only four other houses within sight of my back bedroom windows – there’s none out front at all. There are about five thousand pigs in the surrounding fields though! But I have also lived in a small apartment in Hong Kong, surrounded by thousands of people in high-rise blocks. Given a choice, I think I’d choose a small-ish community in a village somewhere, rather than the isolation that we sometimes experience here.

I’d really like to thank Panicyesterday for the nomination once more. It feels good to be offered a reward for doing something I really enjoy!

Now, this is the penultimate part – here are my nominations and reasons for nominating them:

1)    Dave Smith’s photo-blog of his life in Western Australia. Smithie is an old friend and colleague of mine who has recently retired and lives in WA with his wonderful wife, the lovely Mairi. He has pledged to take a photo every day for a year and posts them on his blog, usually with appropriately amusing captions. It’s a real hoot and I cannot recommend him highly enough! You can find him at:  http://imagesdave.com/2013/11/26/wheres-tara/

2)    Lisa Dingle is a fantastic person that I met through the Open Group for Bedlam Farm and her blog, Just Ponderin’, has me in fits of laughter every time that I read it. I have learned that drinking coffee whilst reading her blog is definitely NOT a good idea! Her antics with her nearly perfect husband, her teenage son and the mad dogs are legendary on the Farm – please check her out too! http://justponderin.com/

3)    Andy Sigler writes a brilliant blog, ‘Newtonstake’, straight from his heart and soul and his inner monologue is utterly fascinating to read. When I want to feel my soul expand as much as my mind, I read Andy’s blog. You can find it at http://newtonstake.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/walt-whitman-lou-gehrig-and-general-patton/

4)    Holly Kallie is just the most amazing artist – take a look at her fantastic gallery of super-real portraits and just drink in her gorgeous soul by looking at them! She’s a beautiful, funny person too as her blog reveals. Check her out at http://hollykallie.com/

5)    Tom Atkins, poet, artist and blogger extraordinaire fills my soul with goodness each day as I read his wonderful thoughts, often expressed in poetry. He has an aura of authoritative writing gleaned from years of ‘life’ lived well. I adore his blog! Read it here… http://quarryhouse.wordpress.com/

6)    Lori Covington Goodwin’s Views from the Horizon http://viewsfromthehorizon.wordpress.com/ is also a great read – she has an interesting perspective on life and relates the stories of her daily life with intrigue, passion and more than a little humour! I really enjoy reading about her adventures.

Actually, there are loads more that I’d like to nominate, but I would be here all day – besides I think that some of them are already well over the limit for followers, including Jon Katz’s Bedlam Farm, Maria Wulf’s Full Moon Fibre Arts and several others as well. Please check them out from the side bar.

So to the final part: my questions for my nominees. I’ve thought long and hard about this and in order that they might reveal some insights about their own lives I’ve come up with these…

  1. Where were you born and how does that relate to where you live now?
  2. What do you remember most clearly from childhood?
  3. What is your favourite movie and why?
  4. What style of music do you relate to most and why?
  5. What do you like most about your life these days?
  6. If you were able to have a super-power for a day, what would you choose and why would you choose that?
  7. What food do you love to eat and conversely, which do you avoid eating and why?
  8. Where would you love to visit, if there were no limits (financial or physical)?
  9. Who do you think has been the most influential author (ever) and what effect do you think they have had upon today’s society as a whole?
  10. You are offered a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Mars in a space-ship with only ten seats for passengers. Of all the people who have ever existed, who would you take with you and why?

Thanks for the nomination panicyesterday! And thank you all for reading 🙂

Posted on November 28, 2013, in Achievements, Blogging, Personal, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Panic yesterday and commented:
    I nominated three blogs to the Liebster Award a month ago. One of those Three blogs “Home on the Grange” accepted my nomination and wrote a nice post about it. I’m reblogging Home on the Grange nomination post, becasue I find it so nice and well written and it’s an opportunity for you to explore new blogs. Thank you Home on the Grange!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for accepting my nomination. And thank you so much for taking your time to answer the questions and to share your answers!
    I do understand that you were sceptical. I started blogging in october 2013 and when I got my first Award I didn’t understand that I should write a post about it. When it happened again I asked the blogger who nominated me how it worked with Awards? He was very kind and took his time to explain. When I found your blog at wordpress it stood on the search page, that you had less than 200 followers, but on your blog it is a much higher number. But I chosed to nominate you because I really think you and your blog deserve it, for sharing all those nice well written stories.
    I will re-blog your nomination post on my blog and I will visit your nominees blogs as well.
    Thank you again for accepting and all the best to you and your family!

    Like

    • I wanted to thank you again because having spent a little time thinking about it I really appreciated how this award works – it always feels good to say and do positive things. Your very kind words are delightful to read and I hope that you keep enjoying my posts in the future too! Good luck with all of your writing as well. Kind regards
      Liz

      Like

Leave a Reply

