Orb’s Gallery

This ‘orbsession’ has a total and complete hold over me – I love playing with the images to achieve satisfactory results. Actually, for me they are more than satisfactory, they are interesting, intriguing and innovative objets d’art.

When I look at an orb that I have created, I see the scene from  new perspective. each one that I’ve made so far has been taken from a photograph that I took; sometimes these images were simply the snapping of a moment with my family or friends, often taken whilst visiting somewhere such as a wildlife park or seaside town. But is the alteration of the perspective that gives each image a new life I think.

A new year heralds the start of something: out with the old and in with the new. So, how co-incidental is it that these new perspectives are revealed just at this moment in time? The part of me that is fascinated by tarot readings and the place of fate in our lives is equally intrigued by these ideas of looking at my life from a different perspective.

I’ve trawled back through around a decade of photographs to find images that have struck me as suitable for ronduration (yes… I think I just made that word up, but it’s a good one isn’t it! I find myself looking at the future differently too. Who knows where they’re going in 2014? Maybe, just possibly, the answer lies in turning things on their heads and taking a different approach.

I hope you enjoy each of these – I’ll be able to make some of them available for purchase as canvas prints quite soon -watch this space!

Ammonite

Ammonite

Baby in red coat

Baby in red coat

Christmas bauble.

Christmas bauble.

Thinking Bench. Looking out to sea at Staithes.

Thinking Bench. Looking out to sea at Staithes.

Bright boats on Peasholme Park lake, Scarborough

Bright boats on Peasholme Park lake, Scarborough

Buddliea butterfly

Butterfly on Buddleia

Cake orb

Celebration cake

candysticks orb

Candy sticks at the seaside

Catsorb

Two cats – Anekin and Bucket

Cockerel orb

Golden Cockerel (reminds me of my friend, Cate O’Rorke!)

Comorants

Cormorants on the waterfall at Durham

Conkers orb

Conkers. Or Aliens. you choose!

deck chairs orb

Two deck chairs on the beach at Filey

DUke of Edinburgh brooch orb

Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

Fairground decoration on the Pirate Ship at Flamingoland

Fairground decoration on the Pirate Ship at Flamingoland

Frosty morning

Frosty morning

Giraffe

Giraffe

Nico the Gorilla

Nico the Gorilla

Two goslings

Two goslings

Halloween Cat - pumpkin.

Halloween Cat – pumpkin.

Ironwork restaurant sign 'The Olive Branch' in Aberystwyth

Ironwork restaurant sign ‘The Olive Branch’ in Aberystwyth

Jack O'Lantern. Carved pumpkin.

Jack O’Lantern. Carved pumpkin.

Mum's rose.

Mum’s rose.

Ostriches. Trevor and Honey, from Animal Park

Ostriches. Trevor and Honey, from Animal Park

Patriot. The England flag flies in a cloudless blue sky.

Patriot. The England flag flies in a cloudless blue sky.

Pebbles from Sandsend. My favourite beach.

Pebbles from Sandsend. My favourite beach.

Pebbles from Sandsend 2

Pebbles from Sandsend 2

Piglets. We live with them

Piglets. We live with them

Spitfire flies overhead. Frequently, about a hundred feet above my roof.

Spitfire flies overhead. Frequently, about a hundred feet above my roof.

Pointsettia. also known as catfood.

Pointsettia. also known as catfood.

Chesil Beach seen from Portland Bill in Weymouth. Summer, here I come!

Chesil Beach seen from Portland Bill in Weymouth. Summer, here I come!

Inquisitive Robin, on my patio

Inquisitive Robin, on my patio

Santa. That'll teach him to stop long enough for me to take a picture!

Santa. That’ll teach him to stop long enough for me to take a picture!

Snapdragons

Snapdragons

Splash! My tribute to David Hockney

Splash! My tribute to David Hockney

Leafy lane, at Althorp House in Northampton, home of the late Diana, Princess of Wales.

Leafy lane, at Althorp House in Northampton, home of the late Diana, Princess of Wales.

Starling

Starling

Stay Nye in black and white

Stay Nye in black and white

Stay Nye - small boat on Norfolk shore

Stay Nye – small boat on Norfolk shore

Strawberry

Strawberry

Sunset over Thirsk

Sunset over Thirsk

Thistle with bumble bee

Thistle with bumble bee

Time - after Dali

Time – after Dali

The tree of life

The tree of life

Valentine balloons - I love you!

Valentine balloons – I love you!

Whitby houses

Whitby houses

Norfolk windmill

Norfolk windmill

Winter trees

Winter trees

Mother and son in stripey shirts

Mother and son in stripey shirts

Zebras (for real)

Zebras (for real)

Posted on January 11, 2014, in Achievements, Animals, Artwork, Blogging, Communing with Nature, Digital artwork, Dreams, family, Floral, gardening, Home, Marketing artwork, memories, Personal, Pets, photography, Trees, Whitby, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks Tom! Coming from you, this is indeed high praise 🙂

    Like

  2. A beautiful obsession indeed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

