Clematis art

A couple of new digital paintings for today, inspired by the fabulous clematis that is just beginning to bloom in a large pot outside the family room door.

This plant is a truly beautiful example of Mother Nature’s own art, with elegant, fine stems and magnificent, velvety flowers of deep purple ranging through to blushing pinks, all backed in opalescent cream, tinged with a tertiary shade of pink.

I adore clematis plants, largely because of the sheer variety on offer, with their glorious blooms that can cover unsightly walls or fences. I’ve struggled with growing them so far – I’ve planted several with almost zero success. This year, my FAB hubby, knowing of my penchant for these plants, found one that has been well brought on by a more knowledgeable gardener than either of us. And it is really lovely.

So, given that I love to make beautiful images and that I have a perfect subject, what else did you expect me to do, except photograph it?

I’ve kept you waiting long enough… here’s my clematis, firstly as a basic photograph.

The glory of a fabulous clematis flower!

The glory of a fabulous clematis flower!

Next, I adored the sweeping blocks of colour so with a little (actually quite a lot of) digital manipulation here’s the result…

I love the sweeping blocks of colour!

I love the sweeping blocks of colour!

And then I really went to town, using more digital magic to create this image that I think I might actually put on my wall somewhere…

I would paint it like this

I would paint it like this

And finally, of course, I orbed it. Just because I can.

Clematis lend themselves to orbing beautifully

Clematis lend themselves to orbing beautifully

I hope you’ve enjoyed looking at my artwork!

Thanks for reading.

Posted on May 2, 2014, in Artwork, Communing with Nature, Digital artwork, Floral, gardening, Home, Marketing artwork, Personal, photography, Seasons, Senses, Spring and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

