Digital collage experiment

Digital art is an interesting concept. I am a total novice of course, having only recently explored some of the possibilities with Photoshop – I yearn to have a wonderful tool like an iPad and the fabulous art software, ‘ArtRage’ or some of the other, equally exciting tools that are available. Of course, I recognise that we have other priorities, not least of which is to find some fulfilling, useful and rewarding (both emotionally and financially!) work for me to undertake. But, I digress. (Did I hear you say ‘How unusual!’ there?)

So this evening I’ve been toying with a less-than inspiring photo of a Californian poppy that was growing in my front garden earlier this Summer. Here’s how it looked to start with:

Original poppy image

Original poppy image

So I considered taking the colours to some extremes and came up with these two:

Poster red poppy

Poster red poppy

Blue poppy

Blue poppy

Then I really started to play around – the middle section of this had seventeen layers at one point! I liked the effect of placing overlaid sections at varying degrees of transparency and I experimented with some different kinds of shapes to select. Then I added the two colourized versions to the top and bottom of the image.

First collage of poppies

First collage of poppies

Next I attempted to add new layers to bring the more defined areas further into the exploration of colours and shapes, hopefully creating new textures to add greater depth to the image. I liked this version best so far, so in order to give a more complete product, I’ve added a mat.

Final collage: Poppies

Final collage: Poppies

Et, voila!

Of course, these are simplistic early explorations of ideas, but I think that I do quite like them, although I’m not sure why.

I’d be interested to know your thoughts on these experiments… please feel free to leave a comment below or contact me on facebook (click the tab at the top of the page 🙂 )

Thanks for reading!

 

 

Posted on July 30, 2014, in Art, Artwork, Digital artwork, Floral, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

